Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Second Edition
  • Publication Date: March 23, 2011
  • ISBN: 9781554810390 / 1554810396
  • 344 pages; 5½" x 8½"

Broadview eBooks are available on a variety of platforms. To learn more, please visit our eBook information page.

Note on pricing.

Request Exam Copy

Examination copy policy

Availability: Worldwide

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Second Edition

  • Publication Date: March 23, 2011
  • ISBN: 9781554810390 / 1554810396
  • 344 pages; 5½" x 8½"

First published in 1865, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland began as a story told to Alice Liddell and her two sisters on a boating trip in July 1862. The novel follows Alice down a rabbit-hole and into a world of strange and wonderful characters who constantly turn everything upside down with their mind-boggling logic, word play, and fantastic parodies.

Like the first, this second edition includes Carroll’s earlier story Alice’s Adventures Under Ground, which allows readers to trace the revisions and to compare Carroll’s own illustrations in the original with the famous John Tenniel illustrations for Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. This edition also includes new appendix material: George MacDonald writing on the fantastic, the eighteenth-century children’s story Goody Two-Shoes, a section on film and television adaptations of Alice, and new illustrations.


Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland appeals to all new generations, and Richard Kelly’s edition is a fresh and fitting jamboree for our time. For the first time, it gives us in a single book both Lewis Carroll’s early version of Alice’s Adventures Under Ground and the full version of the story. It encapsulates the major theories of what the book means, and it provides photographs that Carroll took and excerpts from his diaries and letters; it also offers examples of early reviews, imitations, parodies, and recollections of the author. Altogether it is a splendid cornucopia that is bound to become the ultimate Alice for us and for generations to come.” — Morton N. Cohen, Professor Emeritus, City University of New York, author of Lewis Carroll: A Biography, and editor of The Selected Letters of Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll: A Brief Chronology
A Note on the Text

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Appendix A: Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures Under Ground (1864)

Appendix B: Lewis Carroll, The Nursery Alice (1890)

Appendix C: Lewis Carroll, “Alice on the Stage” (1886)

Appendix D: From Lewis Carroll’s Diaries and Letters (1862-90)

  1. Diaries
  2. Letters

Appendix E: Remembering Lewis Carroll

  1. Alice Hargreaves, “Alice’s Recollections of Carrollian Days as Told to Her Son, Caryl Hargreaves” (1932)
  2. Isa Bowman, The Story of Lewis Carroll (1899)

Appendix F: George MacDonald, “The Fantastic Imagination” (1893)

Appendix G: Contemporary Reviews of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  1. The Press (25 November 1865)
  2. The Publishers’ Circular (8 December 1865)
  3. The Bookseller (12 December 1865)
  4. The Guardian (15 December 1865)
  5. Illustrated Times (16 December 1865)
  6. The Athenaeum (16 December 1865)
  7. The Spectator (22 December 1865)
  8. The Spectator (22 December 1866)
  9. The London Review (23 December 1865)
  10. The Times (13 August 1868)
  11. John Bull (20 January 1866)
  12. The Literary Churchman (5 May 1866)
  13. The Sunderland Herald (25 May 1866)
  14. Aunt Judy’s Magazine (1 June 1866)
  15. The Examiner (15 December 1866)
  16. The Daily News (19 December 1866)
  17. The Scotsman (22 December 1866)
  18. The Contemporary Review (May 1869)
  19. “Alice Translated,” The Spectator (7 August 1869)

Appendix H: Poems Parodied in Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  1. Isaac Watts, “Against Idleness and Mischief” (1720)
  2. Robert Southey, “The Old Man’s Comforts and How He Gained Them” (1799)
  3. David Bates, “Speak Gently” (1848)
  4. Jane Taylor, “The Star” (1806)
  5. Mary Howitt, “The Spider and the Fly” (1834)
  6. Isaac Watts, “The Sluggard” (1715)
  7. James M. Sayles, “Star of the Evening” (date unknown)
  8. William Mee, “Alice Gray” (c. 1815)
  9. Lewis Carroll, “She’s All My Fancy Painted Him” (1855)

Appendix I: Contemporary Children’s Literature

  1. Anonymous, The History of Little Goody Two-Shoes (1765)
  2. From William Makepeace Thackeray, The Rose and the Ring (1855)
  3. From George MacDonald, Phantastes (1858) and The Light Princess (1891)
  4. From Charles Kingsley, The Water-Babies (1862-63)
  5. From Julia Horatia Ewing, “Amelia and the Dwarfs” (1870)

Appendix J: Notable Film and Television Productions

Appendix K: Lewis Carroll’s Photographs of Alice, Lorina, and Edith Liddell

Appendix L: Quentin Massys’s An Old Woman [The Ugly Duchess] (1513)

Select Bibliography

Richard Kelly is Professor Emeritus of English at the University of Tennessee Knoxville. He is the editor of the Broadview Editions of Charles Kingsley’s The Water-Babies and Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol.