Freehand Books

Freehand Books was established in 2007 as the literary imprint of the academic publisher Broadview Press with a very simple mandate: to publish excellent Canadian literature. Our list is an aesthetically diverse collection of fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction by both established authors and exciting new voices. We pride ourselves on our careful attention to detail throughout the editorial process, the high production quality and innovative design of our titles, and our creativity in the marketing and promotion of each book.

In 2016 Freehand Books became an independent press. The change came as Freehand entered into its ninth year and published its fortieth title. Freehand has since moved forward with the same simple mandate that made it a success from the start: to publish excellent Canadian literature. Freehand Books and Broadview Press have maintained their alliance through this change: there have been no changes to the editorial and management boards, or to staffing. Distribution is now handled by the University of Toronto Press. Trade sales representation is handled by Ampersand, but any academics interested in Freehand books for a course can continue to contact their Broadview Representative to arrange examination copies.

Freehand titles may be purchased by visiting their website.

Freehand: Great books. Great reads.

Contact Us

Sign up for our Friends of Freehand newsletter to keep up with our latest news and events.

Freehand Books
515-815 1st St. SW
Calgary, AB
T2P 1N3
Phone: (403) 452-5662
Managing Editor: Kelsey Attard
[Email]

Ordering Books—Retailers

CANADA and USA
UTP Distribution
5201 Dufferin Street
Toronto, ON M3H 5T8
Tel: 1-800-565-9533
Fax: 1-800-221-9985
Email: utpbooks@utpress.utoronto.ca
utppress.utoronto.ca

Canadian Sales Representation

Ampersand Inc (ampersandinc.ca)

British Columbia/Alberta/Saskatchewan/Manitoba/Yukon/Nunavut/NWT

Ali Hewitt (604) 448-7166 alih@ampersandinc.ca
Dani Farmer (604) 448-7168 danif@ampersandinc.ca
Jessica Price (604) 448-7170 jessicap@ampersandinc.ca
Pavan Ranu (604) 448-7165 pavanr@ampersandinc.ca
2440 Viking Way, Richmond BC, V6V 1N2
(604) 448-7111 or 1-800-561-8583
fax: (604) 448-7118 or 1-888-323-7118

Atlantic Provinces

Kris Hykel krish@ampersandinc.ca
(416) 703-0666 Ext. 127 or 1-866-736-5620
fax: (416) 703-4745 or 1-866-849-3819

Head Office

Suite 213, 321 Carlaw Avenue, Toronto ON, M4M 2S1
(416) 703-0666 or 1-866-736-5620
fax: (416) 703-4745 or 1-866-849-3819

Ontario

Saffron Beckwith Ext. 124 saffronb@ampersandinc.ca
Morgen Young Ext. 128 morgeny@ampersandinc.ca
Laureen Cusack Ext. 120 laureenc@ampersandinc.ca
Vanessa Di Gregorio Ext. 122 vanessad@ampersandinc.ca
Evette Sintichakis Ext. 121 evettes@ampersandinc.ca
Jenny Enriquez Ext. 126 jennye@ampersandinc.ca
Kris Hykel Ext. 127 krish@ampersandinc.ca

Quebec

Jenny Enriquez jennye@ampersandinc.ca
(416) 703-0666 Ext. 126 or 1-866-736-5620
fax: (416) 703-4745 or 1-866-849-3819