Table of Contents

Margaret Cavendish,
Duchess of Newcastle: A Brief Chronology
A Note on the Text

The Description of a New World, Called the Blazing World

Appendix A: Selections from Margaret Cavendish, Poems, and Fancies (1653)

  1. Of Many Worlds in This World
  2. A World in an Eare-Ring
  3. The Squaring of the Circle

Appendix B: Francis Bacon, The New Atlantis (1627)

Appendix C: Selections from William Cavendish, Letters and Poems in Honour of … Margaret, Duchess of Newcastle (1676)

  1. From Joseph Glanvill
  2. From Walter Charleton
  3. From Constantijn Huygens

Appendix D: Aphra Behn, Preface to Her Translation of Fontenelle’s Entretiens sur la pluralité des mondes (1688)

Works Cited and Select Bibliography

Posted on January 13, 2016