an independent academic publisher since 1985

Social & Political Philosophy

SOCIAL & POLITICAL PHILOSOPHY

Result pages:

Show All 1 2 3 4 Next page
 
List of products in this category, paginate for more books.

First Philosophy I - Values and Society - Second Edition

"The main difference between other anthologies and First Philosophy is Bailey's supplementary material, which is excellent. The biographical materials are very interesting. ... The explicative material is likewise excellent: clear, highly relevant, useful, easily understood. ... The wo...

Read More

The Broadview Anthology of Social and Political Thought: Essential Readings

"This is a wonderful collection, with great introductory essays....We should all be grateful to the editors for selecting and contextualizing so rich a body of materials." - Kwame Anthony Appiah, Princeton University

Read More

The Broadview Anthology of Social and Political Thought

"This is an admirable collection of primary readings, including sources not usually available in volumes of this kind. The introductory materials and annotations by the editors provide clear orientation on the primary texts. Highly recommended." - Douglas Moggach, University of Ottawa

Read More

The Broadview Anthology of Social and Political Thought

"This is a wonderful collection, with great introductory essays: it is the ideal point of entry to social and political theory over the last century." - Kwame Anthony Appiah, Princeton University

Read More

The Morality of War - Second Edition

"Brian Orend has written a wonderfully lucid and bravely innovative account of just war theory." Michael Walzer, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton

Read More

Propaganda and the Ethics of Persuasion - Second Edition

"In the tradition of George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four and Jacques Ellul's Propaganda , this book will become a classic of the 21st century as theirs were of the 20th.  Its substance, exceptional clarity and unsettling relevance show a master teacher at work." Clifford G. Chri...

Read More

Animals and Ethics - Third Edition

"Angus Taylor's Animals & Ethics is, quite simply, the finest text on animal ethics available."

Read More

Candide

One of the most important and popular novels of ideas ever written, Candide is accompanied in this edition by other writings by Voltaire.

Read More

Catharine Trotter Cockburn

"Sheridan provides a clear and intelligent appraisal of Cockburn as an independent thinker and not simply the unquestioning disciple of the male philosophers she defended." - Jacqueline Broad, Monash University, Australia

Read More


Result pages:

Show All 1 2 3 4 Next page
 
 

Broadview Press acknowledges the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Canada Book Fund, and also acknowledges the support of the Ontario Media Development Corporation. Freehand Books, an imprint of Broadview, acknowledges the support of the Canadian Council of the Arts.